Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Narin & Portnoo Golf Club Notes 15th June 2010

The President’s Prize was presented by Bart Whelan to Pat O’Gorman of Strabane last Sunday night. Over 150 golfers participated, ignoring the inclement weather present for much of the day. Pat avoided much of the deluge, thanks in no small part to some fancy footwork newly acquired on the dance floor! His front nine was ordinary, a blank on the 7th upsetting the apple cart after a steady start. Then, as usually happens, a putt dropped and momentum gradually built. The birdie on the par five 10th was followed by another on 13 and the three successive closing pars sealed an excellent back nine of 24 points. Bart spoke eloquently as always at the presentation ceremony, with golfers present keeping their heads bowed like recalcitrant children, lest he make eye contact and mention them in his hilarious discourse! He thanked all those responsible for the success of his first President’s Day and reserved particular praise for the catering staff who served a lovely buffet and looked after the members and guests so well. Pat commented that he had been told of his success in the middle of his Cha-cha practice (of which he is reputed to be a fine exponent), but no-one displayed defter footwork than the president himself, as he dodged verbal digs launched by several prize-winners, coming back with retort time after time. We look forward already to next year’s event and wish Bart well for the rest of the golfing season.

Finnian O’Doherty went round in level gross playing off a four handicap to achieve his second runner-up finish in this ‘major’ in successive years. The youngster had been part of the scramble team which won on Bank Holiday Monday. He was ably assisted by C. Flood, Paddy Flood and M. Carr who together totted up eight birdies for a gross 67, nett 58.3.

Hughie Moore succeeded his playing pal, Manus Boyle Snr. as the winner of the weekly Open with the customary big score usually achieved every Wednesday. His tally of 43 featured nines of 20 and 23 points respectively, the bulk of his success coming from 11 pars and a birdie at the last.

The club’s Pierce Purcell team were very unfortunate to lose their last 16 clash with Castleblayney last Saturday in Enniskillen. Michael Naughton and Joe Conneely had the usual big win, and when Bart Whelan and Sean Whyte did likewise, hopes were high that the side would progress. But the Monaghan lads fought back to win the remaining matches, with the decider ending on the 18th green. The team captain, Patrick Boyle wishes to thank all those who played for the club in the competition this year and congratulates them on their performances in qualifying and beyond.

The Donegal League team needed two and a half matches in Rosapenna to progress, but the home team were in exemplary form, winning four of the matches played, with Dominic Mullin and Cathal Donoghue our winners on the day. We wish both Castleblayney and Rosapenna well in their future matches.
We sympathise with Willie Molloy on the recent passing of his mother, Theresa. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam.

June 7: Scramble: 1. Finnian O’Doherty (4) C. Flood (27) Paddy Flood (20) M. Carr (36) 58.3; 2. Bart Whelan (13) Pauric McHugh (11) Eamon McGill (7) Tom O’Donnell (16) 59.3; 3. Michael Duddy (8) John Bonner (6) Vincent Bonner (12) Fred Sweeney (18) 59.6; June 9: 1. Hughie Moore (13) 43; 2. Sean Hanrahan (9) 42; 3. Sean McGinley Jnr. (16) 40 b.o.t.; CSS 73; Twos: 10 balls each.
June 13: President’s Prize: 1. Pat O’Gorman (15) 41; 2. Finnian O’Doherty (4) 40 b.o.t.; 3. Fred Sweeney (18) 40; Gross Martin Roarty (6) 38; Cat egory A Fr. Adrian Gavigan (8) 39; Cat B John Quinn (14) 39; Cat C Barney Cunningham (26) 38; Past Presidents: Micheal Naughton (15) 32; Ladies: Celia McGee.

Sunday June 20: Mickey’s Express Stop, monthly medal Wednesday June 23: Wednesday Open, ladies and gents, single stableford, 20 euro entry for G.U.I. visitors including green fee;


There are no comments yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.