Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Narin & Portnoo Golf Club Notes 18th August 2011

A busy Open Week featured high quality golf and the usual mix of indifferent weather. The results are listed below and there were some noteworthy performances. Finnian O’Doherty’s round of 38 gross points in the Alan Elliott Home Improvements stableford was a fantastic score and the three-handicapper will no doubt improve further while in college in the States. Kevin Patton’s CoLab August Medal win featured a lesser score, but the conditions on Sunday were poor in the extreme and there’s no better wind player when the punch shot is required. Michael Martin triumphed in the rain-sodden Ardara GAA competition, while Rory O’Hare and Damien Campbell shot 44 points to win the Killybegs GAA fourball event. Diarmuid Collins teamed up with David McGonagle to win the Dunkineely Golf Society Scotch Foursomes, while Ann Fox had a comfortable victory in the Letterkenny Institute of Technology Golf Society open stableford. Denis Carbery must have thought his 66 would win the Aer Arann event, but he hadn’t reckoned on Diarmuid Collins who shot two better off 18 handicap to win for the second time during the week. Pauric Brennan was twice the runner-up during the weekend, losing a shot and earning the dubious tag of P.R.O.’s favourite for this Sunday’s President’s Prize, presented by fellow Ardara gent, Bart Whelan.

We wish our Ulster Cup team every success in their semi-final first leg this weekend. The match takes place at home to Kilkeel. Harold Reid’s Junior side couldn’t overcome the deficit to Gaoth Dobhair in their semi-final second leg but to reach this stage was a fine performance.


August 14: CoLab August Medal
1. Kevin Patton (9) 74; 2. Pauric Brennan (11) 75 b.o.t.; 3. Michael Lovett (24) 75 b.o.t.; Cat A Harold Reid (7) 77; Cat B Patrick P. Gallagher (14) 76 b.o.t.; Cat C John O’Doherty (22) 75; Nines: Hughie Moy (14) 33; Eamon McGill (10) 38; CSS 74 reduction only; Twos: 10 balls August 13: Alan Elliott Home Improvements 1. Finnian O’Doherty (3) 41; 2. Pauric Brennan (12) 40; 3. David Bowman (16) 37; Best Lady, Nora Shovlin (25) 36; Cat A Willie Quinn (7) 35; Cat B Martin Igoe (16) 37; Cat C Colm Flood (21) 35; Twos: 3 balls August 12: Killybegs GAA 1. Rory O’Hare (9) & Damien Campbell (11) 44; 2. John Molloy (8) & Conal Keeney (16) 42; 3. Conal Gavigan (20) & Columba Gavigan (11) 41; Twos: 5 balls

August 11: Aer Arann
1. Diarmuid Collins (18) 64; 2. Denis Carbery (11) 66; 3. Kieran Whelan (19) 68; CSS 73; Twos: 12 balls

August 10: Ardara GAA
1. Michael Martin (18) 33; 2. Francis O’Donnell (19) 29; CSS 76;

August 9: Dunkineely Golf Society Scotch Foursomes
1. Diarmuid Collins (18) & David McGonagle (15) 66.5; 2. Ronan Kennedy (14) & Martin Igoe (19) 67.5; 3. Connell McDevitt (28) & Beatrice McDevitt (31) 68.5;

August 8: Letterkenny Institute of Technology Golf Society
1. Ann Fox (27) 41; 2. Sean Murphy (19) 37 b.o.t.; 3. Conal Gillespie (18) 37; Twos: 5 balls


August 20 Ardara Golf Society Captain’s Prize, presented by Don Earley; tee-time 9a.m.; this is the final qualifier for the Rider Cup.

August 21: President’s Prize presented by Bart Whelan August 24: Wednesday Open, ladies and gents, single stableford, 20 euro entry for G.U.I. visitors, including green fee;


There are no comments yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.